Thyroid

Cancer is a word, not a sentence.

today blog

So its been a week since I had my scan and still not heard anything. Everyone keeps trying to reassure me saying “No news is good news” but I’m not sure. After all the waiting they have made me do in the past, I have learnt that anything can happen. You just have to be prepared.

This week has been easier than I thought it would be. Maybe it’s because I know what’s coming, maybe its because I’ve been keeping myself busy, maybe it’s because these past years have taught me a different kind of strength or maybe it’s because I have the most amazing support network around me. Maybe its all of them. Either way it’s worked.

I’ve been throwing myself into organising my support group. We have been given a grant from Macmillan which is in the final stages and should be in the bank account within the next week or so. I put our first ever cheques into the bank account which was an amazing feeling! I have been invited to attend a launch of an amazing charity called YouCan who help young people and their families who have been diagnosed with cancer, so I am super excited for that. We have a Summer Garden Party lined up in July with a bouncy castle, food and raffles where families can all come together and meet others on similar journeys. Where children who’s lives have been affected one way or another with cancer, can play with other children and take comfort in the fact they are not alone.

When I first had the idea of setting up a group I never imagined having over 100 members and receiving 4-5 emails a week from people who need support. We only meet once a month and have things planned every month right up until February 2018! It’s been hard work and I have sometimes had to take a step back and remember why I’m doing it alongside my own hectic life, but I’m so proud of how far we have come as a group.

When I was diagnosed I had to leave my degree at University as I was missing too much time with he operations and the RAI but there was no other choice. Health comes first. To me, this was one of the worst side effects to having cancer. I had worked so hard to get there and then in a blink of an eye it was ripped out from underneath me, leaving me with nothing. I did however receive and invitation out of error to what would have been my graduation. Thanks for that CCCU, kick me while I’m down why don’t you! I think you can guess that I didn’t go!

When I was well again I started working 1 day a week, in a job which couldn’t have been more different to what I was used to. It was great to get back to doing something, it made me feel important again and that I had a purpose. Sounds silly being 1 day a week but thats how I felt. But it’s not what I love, it’s just a job. My brain is bored.

I am now making career plans for the future which is so exciting! I finally can get back to  something that I have a passion for and not just something to pay the bills. This time next year I will be a student again! It will take lots of hard work, money and perseverance but I will get there! Watch this space!

So to you, Cancer, you don’t scare me. You make me stronger. Stronger than I ever imagined.

Cancer does not own me. I own Cancer and there is no way it is taking anything from me this time round.

Bring. It. On.

3 thoughts on “Cancer is a word, not a sentence.

  1. The waiting is the worst. I’ve been there with Nic, my hubby. I’m so chuffed to hear all you’ve achieved. You’re destined for great things. Cancer may even have given you your dentiny in some wierd way. I believe we all need to have significance in this life, and make a difference in the lives of others. I think that you have done that and are doing that sterlingly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

