Thyroid

Let’s lead by example


I haven’t posted in a while as I’ve had a lot on my mind. But the events of last night have made me think.

I spent nearly all of last night watching the events in London unfold, knowing I would have to answer a lot more questions in the morning from my children. Questions that no parent should ever have to answer.

“Mummy why can’t people just be nice”

“Will they get us?”

“Why did they do it?”

I sat and thought about the world I had brought my beautiful babies into and how I can keep them safe forever.

I realised that I can’t.

But what I can do is reassure them and show them that I’m not scared. It’s ok to ask questions, it’s ok to feel sad and it’s ok to cry. But it’s not ok for them to shelter themselves from this beautiful world we live in.

I have a concert in London coming up and I am not letting them win. I will be going and I will have an amazing time and show my children that those vile creatures can’t win.

In exactly 81 days my fiancé and I will be travelling to USA on a trip of a lifetime to get married. A trip which has taken 2 years of planning and saving. A trip that we are still going ahead with and are still just as excited about.

Chidlrens minds are like sponges. If you fill their heads with fear and dread then what kind of life will they have. The cowards would win.

My children will be brave and fearless.

They will live their lives to the full because they have watched their Mummy do the same.

We will be watching the Manchester One Love concert on the TV tonight, as a family and be proud of the solidarity of the country we are blessed to live in.

xxxx

Leave a Reply

