Thyroid

The power of honesty

“Why do you write blogs?”

“Why do you share so much of your life on social media?”

“Why can’t people just go through life in private anymore”

Just an example of the things I read and see lately.

Personally, for me? I share my life, warts and all because I’m not ashamed. I’m not ashamed of feeling ill 90% of the time. I’m not ashamed of asking for help when I can’t muster up the energy to do it. I’m not ashamed to admit my body’s broken as fuck and actually I’m struggling with the mentality of that.

This is me. Gemma. I’m a Mum, a Wife, a Daughter, a Sister a Friend, a colleague…. the list goes on. But they are all just personas we have to adhere to. Hats we have to wear, if you were.

But the real me, the person behind closed doors that very few people get to see, the person who has more mental baggage than Heathrow is finally learning to accept who I am. I’m finally healing. And blogging and Instagram has helped me with that.

I get to talk to some amazing people who are fighting similar demons, who aren’t just based on how you look, if you’ve got the newest gadgets or the latest monotonous grey scale living room.

I talk open and honestly, without judgement or shame. Like therapy- without the cost 😝

As well as me doing the talking, I am able to support people similar to me, who also feel alone. Weird isn’t it, having a huge family, lots of friends, millions of bloody kids and you can feel alone.

I have an amazing support network and I know I am lucky, don’t get me wrong. But when everyone else has their own problems, it’s easier to answer with ‘I’m ok’ rather than tell the truth.

I’m terrified beyond words that my cancer will come back. Every lump, every bump it’s the first thing I think of. It’s ridiculous, I know that. So trying to explain that to someone is near impossible.

I have “met” some incredible, brave, genuine people through my writing and without them I wouldn’t be in the position I am in today.

Life is fucking tough, friendships are tough and relationships are tough. If I can help make just one person feel less anxious, feel less scared and feel less alone, then I’m more than happy with that.

So bloggers, keep blogging. Ranters, keep ranting and over sharers, keep over sharing.

You do you. You’re all pretty awesome 👏🏻

One thought on “The power of honesty

Leave a comment